Autumn sparkle.

I’ve decided to share another art journal page, because I’m being brave. Or something. Creating is fun and it doesn’t necessarily require a lot of money or supplies. Although, full disclosure, I do have a deep and abiding love affair going on with Liquitex Acrylic Inks, and tend to use them a lot. But! They really aren’t that expensive, and you can use thinned down inexpensive acrylic paint to achieve similar effects in many applications. 


I really like how this turned out. I’m a sucker for that grungy feel, and I just love copper and turquoise together. It makes me happy. 


Work in progress. What you’re seeing is lots of paper ripped up, glued down, and covered in gesso. I used texture paste through some stencils, and then drizzled and dabbed Tim Holtz distress stains and some acrylic paint in various bits. (Gesso isn’t expensive, and there are lots of homemade texture paste  recipes online.)


Aaand… Liquitex Acrylic Ink, how I love thee! You can also see some shading done with cheap eyeshadow from the dollar store. Yup. I have some PanPastels, which I love, but sometimes it’s fun to play. Evidently I’m much better at applying makeup to paper than I am my face, but that’s another ball of wax entirely. 

A close up showing all the lovely texture. Yay for texture!

I just really dig how Liquitex Acrylic Ink and water give this watercolor effect. So pretty. 


The leaves were from the dollar store. I bought a package of cheap leaves because I knew I’d find a way to use them. What I did was coat two of them in gesso, then dab on the same coppery paint I used on the page.  One of them I coated in embossing powder and heat embossed. 

So, there you have it. Another adventure in art journaling from me- mostly on the cheap. I hope you liked it, and that you’ll consider creating something of your own. 

Leave a Reply

