Newton’s Nook Inky Paws Challenge #36 – Halloween!

Today I was feeling Halloween-y, and I really wanted to make a fun card to send to a friend. I also thought it would be nifty to enter the Inky Paws Challenge on the Newton’s Nook blog- the theme is Halloween. 

Now, full disclosure, I don’t have a lot of Halloween stamps. I realize that’s kinda weird, given how much I love Halloween, but what can I say? It’s just how it goes sometimes.  I wasn’t going to let that stop me, and I decided to see if I could stretch the stamps I do have and get creative. 

On the Newton’s Nook blog they have a cute freebie and when I saw it I had an idea. I pulled out one of my favorite sets,  In Slow Motion and had some fun!


This is my finished card. I masked the turtle, and used the digital freebie to send him trick or treating. The sentiment is also from the digital freebie. For his colorful Halloween hat, I used one of the birthday hats included in the set, and just modified it a bit with a black pen. 


Here’s a close up of the turtle. As you can see I used glossy accents to give his shell some dimension. 


I used glossy accents on the hat and also on the candy. I added a bunch of dots with a lime green gel pen as well as a sparkly purple gel pen. 

I am really pleased with how the card turned out, and I had a lot of fun making it. 


Another view, in slightly better light. Hope you feel inspired to take a look at your own stash and find some fun ways to stretch your stamps and flex those creative muscles. I don’t know about you, but it’s certainly my favorite kind of exercise!

2 thoughts on “Newton’s Nook Inky Paws Challenge #36 – Halloween!

  1. This is such a fun card! I love how you were able to use something you had that wasn’t specifically halloween and make it work for the challenge! That turtle with the pumpkin on his back is so fun!!! Thanks for getting inky with us and linking up to our inky paws challenge at Newton’s Nook Designs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

