Bears, and bees and patterns. Oh my!

Happy Friday! Anyone have some fun weekend plans? The weather is finally realizing Autumn is around the corner, so that’s nice. Might spend some time outside. 

I have two cards to share with you today. I hope you like them.


I started with a piece of patterned paper cut down from a 12×12″ sheet. I used an adorable kitty stamp from Lost Coast Designs which I masked off with a Post-It note. I have a set of Scrabble stamps that I used for the sentiment- also masked with a Post-It note. I then did some stenciling with Distress Ink in pumice stone, rusty hinge and shabby shutters. I removed the masks from the stamped kitty and sentiment and colored them in with colored pencils- nothing fancy, just Crayola. A little clear Wink of Stella, some twine for the embellishment, and that was the panel. I used a Kraft cardstock base in keeping with the earthy tones. I really like how it turned out. 


For this Rosh Hashanah card, I started with a piece of watercolor paper which I randomly painted with warm colors. Once that dried, I used 5777 from a package of vinyl number stickers from the dollar store. I made sure to stick them down, but didn’t press really hard. I then used a make up sponge to dab on some Inka Gold- I used two different shades of gold. I carefully removed the stickers. Slow and steady wins the race! The bear, bee, and beehive images are from a Newton’s Nook set called Winston’s Bees that I really like. I stamped them on white card stock, colored them in with colored pencil, fussy cut them and then glued them on. I used a black pen to add some details, a little clear Wink of Stella for sparkle, and added a little dimension with Nuvo Crytal Drops from Tonic Studios. Glued the panel onto a Kraft cardstock base, and called it good. 

The photo really doesn’t do it justice- it’s really pretty. 

Leave a Reply

