Plate Lunch Birthday Card.

IMG_6041

My significant other is half Filipino-Hawaiian, and unhealthily obsessed with Spam musubi. I am a Jewish vegan. Yeah. I know. Life is weird. Anyway! Since a Hawaiian birthday vacation wasn’t in the budget this year, there’s no way on earth I’m touching Spam, but I love drawing cute food – Mr. Musubi and all his plate lunch pals were born. Aren’t they cute?

For this card, I kept it simple. I used a 5×7″ piece of watercolor paper. Nothing fancy – it’s from a pad of Strathmore that I got on sale and just cut down to size. I didn’t even use a paper trimmer, just a ruler and a craft knife. I sketched out my design with a Sakura Pigma Micron 01. To color, I used Tim Holtz Distress Ink squidged onto an acrylic block and thinned out with water. The brush I used was just an inexpensive synthetic #2 round from a multi-pack.

My admittedly pathetic brush lettering was done with Faber-Castell PITT artist pens in indanthrene blue and deep scarlet red. I really stink at brush lettering. I love how it looks, I’m pleased that it’s so on trend right now… but I just can’t get the hang of it, regardless of how much I practice. Whatever. I don’t let my own ineptitude prevent me from doing things.

There you have it – a simple and inexpensive birthday card. I used really basic supplies, a limited palette… nothing fancy. I know it’s easy to get intimidated out of creating when you see all these super fancy cards and projects featuring long product/supply lists. Use what you have and make something! Anything. Just create. It’s good for the soul. Is this the fanciest card ever? Nope. Am I particularly skilled at drawing/painting? Hardly! Could I have made this with plain white cardstock, some colored pencils and a Bic pen? Yep.

Hope you enjoyed meeting Mr. Musubi and friends, and that this simple sketchy card inspires you to make a personalized card for someone you care about.

P.S. I know poi isn’t traditionally part of a plate lunch, but it’s pretty and purple. So there.

Leave a Reply

